Art of Living Creates History in Jamaica Prisons

Art of Living foundation has created a new history in Jamaica recently. It is a testimony of the vision of Sri Sri Ravi Shankar has towards world peace and prosperity. Recently international teacher Dushyant Savadia and Gabriella Saville took the Art of Living course to Jamaica Prison. A passionate personality for service and carrying the foundation vision Dushyant Savadia  met the Director of Correction facilities in Jamaica and within 15 minutes they agreed to have the courses in two of the main prisons in Jamaica. This prison rehabilitation program is called as PRISON SMART

Needless to say the inmates loved the course and the teachers. Time and time again this reminds me (and hopeful others as well) that we do have a big responsibility to make our community a better place to live.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here is what the inmates have to share.

“This course had been a great help to me as to say. I thought it was all but a joke at first until I made myself a part of it and the truth is I learnt a lot and I am grateful for the experience”. – Tommy  

“Very good to me. In 12 years this is the best thing in my life. I would like this to continue for next seven months until I leave this institution. It has made me a better man going out to the society back. It will be good for my kids and wife also. I was going to a doctor and was supposed to get an ultrasound. Since this program everything is gone. I sleep better and eat better”. – Leon 

 “I found this class so amazing it help me a lot to control my temper. It helps me breathe properly cause I have asthma and it is fun also with the teachers as they teach a lot things to us so it is helpful and amazing to me”. – Swight 

 “I feel as though I am alive for the first time in my life”. – Paul 

 “Makes me feel like a changed person, makes me feel like doing this everyday. It cuts my temper down. Best thing ever happened to me. It frees my lungs and joints in my body. Makes me happy when we do it, like in school again. I love it” – Jessie 

 “This 6 days course was special to me personally it’s a life time experience for me, it changes my breathing systems and also my mind functions and it makes me think and act positive and also reduces my bad temperament. Thanks a lot to both of you and your team”. – John 

“Well, I am not going to tell any lie, I love it and I don’t mind doing it again”. –Daniel 

“This program has done so much for me I must say as it taught me to be stress free. I am confident in my anger management, I hope to see them again”. – Ricardo 

 

About Art of Living foundation :

Founded in 1981 by Sri Sri Ravi Shankar,The Art of Living Foundation is a not-for-profit, educational and humanitarian NGO (Non-Governmental Organisation) engaged in stress-management and service initiatives. The organisation operates globally in 152 countries.

The organisation’s programs are guided by Sri Sri’s philosophy of peace: “Unless we have a stress-free mind and a violence-free society, we cannot achieve world Peace.” To help individuals get rid of stress and experience inner peace, The Art of Living offers stress-elimination programs which include breathing techniques, meditation and yoga. These programs have helped millions around the world to overcome stress, depression and violent tendencies.

The Art of Living Foundation has spread peace across communities through diverse humanitarian projects, including conflict resolution, disaster reliefsustainable rural developmentempowerment of womenprisoner rehabilitation,education for all, and environmental sustainability.

